Optimus by Tesla vs T800 by EngineAI

Compare Optimus and T800. Detailed analysis of sensors, navigation, battery, speed, and price.

||||||

Optimus vs T800 at a glance

Optimus is lighter at 57 kg, compared with 75–85 kg for T800. Optimus is priced at $20,000–$50,000 and T800 at $25,000–$80,000, so their price ranges overlap. Optimus is quicker, with a top speed of 2.2 m/s versus 2 m/s for T800.

Which one fits your use?

Based on the uses each robot is built and marketed for. Open a use to see the specs that matter for it.

Comparing for…OptimusT800
SuitedNot listed
SuitedNot listed
Not listedSuited
Not listedSuited
Not listedSuited
  • Pick Optimus for warehouse and logistics work and factory and manufacturing work.
  • Pick T800 for research labs, education and training and hazardous or high-risk work.

Tesla's Optimus is positioned as a versatile humanoid robot for industrial and domestic applications, leveraging Tesla's expertise in AI and autonomous driving. It features a compact design at 173cm tall and 57kg, with a maximum speed of 8 km/h and up to 8 hours of battery life for operational use. Key differentiators include its Tesla FSD-based vision system for navigation and fully autonomous control with remote supervision options, targeting manufacturing, logistics, and infrastructure tasks.

EngineAI's T800 targets heavy-duty industrial and interactive roles, offering a heavier frame at 173cm and 75–85kg suited for demanding environments. Priced from $25,000 to $80,000, it reaches 10 km/h speeds and claims a 4-year battery lifespan, though likely referring to total capacity rather than continuous use. Distinctive aspects include visual SLAM navigation, support for teleoperation, and applications in robot boxing, retail assistance, and human-robot interaction.

Share this comparison

LinkedInXFacebookReddit

Detailed Analysis

Optimus

Optimus

Design & Build Quality

Optimus measures 173cm x 55cm x 38cm and weighs 57kg, providing a lighter and more compact build compared to T800's 185 x 60 x 40 dimensions and 85kg weight. T800 supports heavier payloads up to 5kg per hand, while Optimus emphasizes compliant actuators for precise movements. Both feature multi-degree-of-freedom joints, but T800 includes advanced neck and waist articulation for human-like motion.

T800

T800

Mobility & Navigation

Optimus achieves a max speed of 8 km/h using Tesla FSD-based vision with stereo cameras and internal proprioception for navigation. T800 reaches 2 m/s (7.2 km/h) or more and employs visual SLAM combined with LiDAR mapping for environmental awareness. Both enable autonomous movement, though T800 adds omni-directional perception for real-time obstacle avoidance.

Optimus

Optimus

Sensors & Perception

Optimus relies mainly on cameras, with an IMU, tactile sensing in its fingers and force and torque sensing in its feet and joints. T800 includes RGB cameras, stereo cameras, LiDAR, ultrasonic sensors, IMU, gyroscope, force sensors, and temperature sensors. T800's setup supports 360-degree LiDAR for multi-dimensional awareness with millisecond-level processing.

T800

T800

AI Capabilities

Optimus runs on Tesla custom OS with AI and FSD integration for fully autonomous operation and real-time perception. T800 uses proprietary OS, ROS2, Python, and C++ with high-performance computing like AGX Orin for onboard AI decision-making. Both support learned behaviors, but Optimus emphasizes neural networks trained on Dojo for manipulation tasks.

Optimus

Optimus

Battery & Power Efficiency

Optimus provides approximately 8 hours of operational use from its battery. Optimus battery details suggest 2.3 kWh capacity with 100W idle consumption, while T800 power specs align with intensive industrial use.

T800

T800

Use-Case Suitability

Optimus suits manufacturing, research, logistics, infrastructure inspection, and remote operations with its lightweight design. T800 targets heavy-duty industrial tasks, robot boxing, retail assistance, human-robot interaction, and logistics automation. T800's robust build fits high-payload scenarios, while Optimus excels in precision autonomous tasks.

Optimus

Optimus

Pricing & Value

Optimus is priced at $20,000 - $50,000, offering a potentially lower entry cost for versatile applications. T800 ranges from $25,000 base to $80,000 high-end, reflecting scalability for advanced configurations. Price differences align with Optimus's focus on autonomy and T800's heavy-duty capabilities.

T800

T800

Safety Features

Optimus includes emergency stop, obstacle detection, and compliant actuators. T800 provides force limiting, collision detection, emergency stop, and collaborative mode. Both prioritize real-time detection, with T800 adding force sensors for safer human interaction.

Capabilities & Operational Tasks

Head-to-head comparison of what Optimus and T800 can do, their applications, and capabilities.

🎯

What Can Optimus & T800 Do?

13

2 tasks listed for both, 6 only for Optimus, 5 only for T800.

Optimus8 supported
T8007 supported

Technical Specifications

Optimus and T800 differ on 30 of the 47 specifications listed for both.

Optimus
T800

Functional Utility & Use Cases

4 Comparative Metrics

Control Method
Fully autonomous with optional remote supervision
Autonomous, learned behaviors, teleoperation
Use Cases
Repetitive and unsafe tasks in Tesla factories (such as sorting battery cells and moving parts); general-purpose and household help planned later
Heavy-duty industrial tasks, robot boxing, retail assistance, human-robot interaction, logistics automation
Multi Robot Coord
Not publicly disclosed
Not publicly disclosed
Pet Friendly
Not publicly disclosed
Not publicly disclosed

Manipulation & Load Capacity

4 Comparative Metrics

Carrying Capacity
20 kg
5 kg (hands, with integrated tactile sensing)
Deadlift Capacity
68 kg (150 lbs)
100 Kg
Payload Type
Goods and tools; not designed for human transport
Tools, packages, precision instruments, people interaction
Modular Attachments
Not publicly disclosed
Not publicly disclosed

Kinematic Architecture & Dexterity

4 Comparative Metrics

Degrees of Freedom
40+ DOF (full-body dexterity including hands)
25–46 DoF depending on edition (Basic and Open Source 25; Pro 29 + 14 hand; Max 32 + 14 hand)
Material
Not publicly disclosed
Aluminum alloy, composite, soft materials
Mobility Type
Bipedal (legged)
Legged (bipedal walking)
Hardware Interface
-
Not publicly disclosed

Comparison Depth: 12 / 54 Metrics

Explore More Comparisons

Verdicts reflect our research and opinion. Confirm specifications with the manufacturer before buying.